Each year the Fisheries Administration Section of the American Fisheries Society (AFS) recognizes outstanding fisheries projects completed with Sport Fish Restoration funds.  These awards are intended to both highlight the importance and effectiveness of the Sport Fish Restoration program and recognize excellence in fisheries management, research, and education. Recipient History The Sport Fish Restoration Program also... Read More


Colorado Parks and Wildlife Receives 2015 SFR Award for Best Fisheries Research and Surveys Project

Past-President Mike Stone (second from right) presents SFR award to Eric Fetherman of Colorado Parks and Wildlife. Others in photo from L. to R.: Brad Neuschwanger, Tracy Davis, Chris Praamsma, CPW Director Bob Broscheid. Investigation of Methods to Improve Spawning, Rearing, and Survival of Sport Fish Species in Hatcheries and in the WildDownload the nomination documentation CPW Whirling Disease Read More

Wisconsin Dept. of Natural Resources Receives 2014 SFR Award for Best Research Project

President-elect Ken Kurzawski presents SFR award.  L to R: Preston Cole – DNR board chair, President-elect Kurzawski, Matt Diebel – Research scientist, John Lyons – Lead research scientist, and Matt Mitro – Research scientist. Development and Evaluation of Watershed Models for Predicting Stream Fishery Potential Download the nomination documentation WI DNR Watershed Fishery Models Read More

Texas Parks and Wildlife Dept. Receives 2014 SFR Award for Best Management Project

Past President Doug Nygren presents SFR award.  L to R: , Dan Hughes –  TPW Commission chair, Dakus Geeslin – TPWD Water Resources, Past President Nygren,  Tiffany Morgan – Brazos River Authority, John Tibbs – TPWD Inland Fisheries, Dan Bennett- TPWD Inland Fisheries, John Botros – TPWD Inland Fisheries, and Carter Smith – TPWD Executive Director. Collaboration to maintain quality fisheries in... Read More

North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission Wins 2013 SFR Award for Best Research Project

President Stone presents SFR award.  L to R: David Hart – fisheries technician, Corey Oakley – Piedmont research coordinator, Jessica Baumann – district fisheries biologist, president Stone, Brian McRae – Piedmont fisheries supervisor. Using the DIDSON to Evaluate the Effectiveness of Different Fish Attractors in Turbid Reservoirs Download the nomination documentation NC_SFR award_DIDSON_Fish Attractor  ... Read More

Nebraska Game and Parks Commission receives 2013 SFR Award

The Nebraska Game and Parks Commission receives the Outstanding SFR Award in the category of Sport Fishery Development and Management: Habitat.  Mike Stone presents the award.  (from left to right): Steve Satra – Program Specialist, Don Gabelhouse – Fish Chief, Mike Stone- President of FAS, Director Jim Douglas, Commission Chairman Norris Marshall. •Project: Download nomination... Read More